Rate this post

Current UFC Champions

The history of the Ultimate Fighting Championship is a fascinating one, but it doesn’t quite compare to the organisation’s success story. In a short period of time, the UFC went from a card of fighters with no weight limits, TV support or sponsorship package to the biggest promotion in the sport. Think mixed martial arts and, for many, the response is UFC. In its modern form, UFC has a dozen weight categories and stages fight all over the world. These cards are shown live on major television stations, including BT Sport in the United Kingdom. Fighters hail from Europe, the Americas, Africa and beyond. There is one champion in every division with the contenders forced to climb the ladder to earn a shot at the crown. Gone are the days of the open tournaments to decide a ruler. We now have a champion in each division and challenger are selected by the UFC on form and recent results. That has paved the way for more UFC shows, more fights and better coverage. In fact, many of the top bouts of the year aren’t title fights. Who are the champions of UFC and what can we expect from the sport in the year ahead? Below you will find a list of present and famous champions in every weight category. This list is correct at the time of writing but please remember, it can change fight by fight. stipe miocic

Men’s Current UFC Champions (Published December 2019)

Heavyweight – Stipe Miocic – America – won title August 2019 Light Heavyweight – Jon Jones – America – won title December 2018 Middleweight – Israel Adesanya – Nigeria – won title October 2019 Welterweight – Kamaru Usman – Nigeria – won title March 2019 Lightweight – Khabib Nurmagomedov – Russia – won title April 2018 Featherweight – Alexander Volkanovski – Australia – won title December 2019 Bantamweight – Henry Cejudo – America – won title June 2019 Flyweight – vacant Amanda Nunes

Women’s Current UFC Champions (Published December 2019)

Featherweight – Amanda Nunes – Brazil – won title December 2018 Bantamweight – Amanda Nunes – Brazil – won title July 2016 Flyweight – Valentina Shevchenko – Kyrgyzstan – won title December 2018 Strawweight – Zhang Weili – China – won title August 2019